Only 10% of the overall discontinuations observed were because of

Only 10% of the overall discontinuations observed were because of failure; the short follow-up time might have limited the observation of treatment modification due to failure not occurring as a consequence of intolerance/toxicity or poor adherence. The fact that the reason for discontinuation was determined by the clinician and, as such, was a subjective measure might be seen as a limitation.

However, it was the objective of our analysis to use the clinical perception of the main reason for discontinuation to define the study endpoints. Nevertheless, when we defined discontinuation because of failure on the basis of a viral load >500 copies/mL, or an increase in CD4 cell count LY2109761 in vivo of <10% from a patient's pre-therapy value or the occurrence of an AIDS-defining illness, the analysis produced results that were very similar to those of the main analysis. Not surprisingly, we found that patients who started therapy with a nonconventional regimen (‘other regimen’) were more likely to

have treatment discontinuation for any reason and for each specific reason than those starting with a standard combination. In conclusion, it seems important to evaluate reason-specific trends in the incidence of discontinuation in order to better understand the determinants of changes over time. The incidence of discontinuation because of intolerance/toxicity has declined over time, INCB024360 in vivo while simplification strategies have become more frequent in recent years. Despite the fact that drug tolerability has improved and currently available regimens have a reduced pill burden, intolerance/toxicity remains the major cause of drug discontinuation. As reported in our previous study, we confirm that women and HCV-coinfected patients in our cohort are at higher risk of discontinuing HAART. The ICoNA Foundation Study is supported by unrestricted educational grants from Abbott, Boehringer Ingelheim, Bristol-Myers Squibb, Gilead, GSK, Pfizer and Janssen-Cilag. Governing body M. Moroni (Chair), G. Carosi, R. Cauda, F. Chiodo, A. d’Arminio Monforte, G. Di Perri, M. Galli, R. Iardino, G. Ippolito,

A. Lazzarin, F. Mazzotta, R. Panebianco, G. Pastore and C. F. Perno. Steering committee A. Ammassari, A. Antinori, C. Arici, check details C. Balotta, P. Bonfanti, M. R. Capobianchi, A. Castagna, F. Ceccherini-Silberstein, A. Cozzi-Lepri, A. d’Arminio Monforte, A. De Luca, C. Gervasoni, E. Girardi, S. Lo Caputo, F. Maggiolo, R. Murri, C. Mussini, M. Puoti and C. Torti. Participating physicians and centres Italy: M. Montroni, G. Scalise, A. Costantini, A. Riva (Ancona); U. Tirelli, F. Martellotta (Aviano-PN); G. Pastore, N. Ladisa (Bari); F. Suter, F. Maggiolo (Bergamo); F. Chiodo, G. Verucchi, C. Fiorini (Bologna); G. Carosi, G. Cristini, C. Torti, C. Minardi, D. Bertelli (Brescia); T. Quirino (Busto Arsizio); P. E. Manconi, P. Piano (Cagliari); E. Pizzigallo, M.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>